2014 Football World Cup Qualification

The qualification process for the 2014 Football World Cup started on the 15th of June 2011 and concluded on the 20th of November 2013. During this period national teams in each of the six FIFA regions competed in regional qualifiers and knockout games for 31 berths at the World Cup in Brazil in 2014. Brazil was handed an automatic entry to the tournament after being selected as the tournament host.


52 African teams were split into 10 qualifying groups competing for 5 places at the World Cup finals. The teams played through three phases of qualification, culminating in a series of playoffs between the 10 group winners.

There were few surprises amongst the qualifying teams, with African powerhouses Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Cameroon and Ghana all achieving convincing wins in their playoff ties. The one notable omission from the party that will travel to Brazil in 2014 was Egypt, who lost to Ghana in their qualifying tie. Instead it will be Algeria who will represent North Africa at the World Cup in 2014.


In the Asian region 4 automatic berths at the World Cup were up for grabs along with a place in a qualifying Intercontinental playoff. The qualifiers passed through four rounds of qualification, with Japan, South Korea, Australia and Iran all performing as expected and securing places at the tournament.

Jordan played through two further qualifying rounds before eventually falling at the last hurdle as they were downed by Uruguay in an intercontinental playoff.


In the Americas group 35 different countries competed for three places in the World Cup finals. These were separated into six qualifying groups, with the winner in each progressing to a third round of qualification featuring three groups. The top two teams in each of these then went to a fourth and final round of qualification.

When the dust had settled the United States has qualified for the World Cup and were joined by Costa Rica and Honduras. Mexico finished 4th in the final qualifying group and was gifted a relatively straightforward intercontinental playoff against New Zealand, who they defeated 9-3 on aggregate to secure themselves a place at the World Cup.


Eleven teams from the Oceania region competed for a place at the 2014 Football World Cup. The first round was a four team round-robin qualifying round, with the winner, Samoa, joining the seven highest seeded teams in Oceania in the main group stage.

Two groups of four then played a round robin tournament, with the top two sides in each group progressing to the semifinals. Tahiti eventually won the playoff stage by beating New Caledonia in the final, while New Zealand won the 3rd place playoff.

This stage of the tournament had no bearing on qualification as all four teams then contested a third group stage, with New Zealand emerging as overall winners.

The New Zealand team progressed to an intercontinental playoff against Mexico and were eliminated in this tie. Oceania will therefore not have a representative at the 2014 Football World Cup.

South America

Nine South American teams competed for four automatic qualifying berths at the 2014 Football World Cup, with an additional playoff berth on offer to the fifth best qualifier. The teams were arranged into a single qualifying group and played one another home and away, with Brazil excluded from proceedings due to their automatic qualification for the tournament.

The qualifying tournament was very competitive, with Argentina, Colombia, Chile and Ecuador emerging from the fray with automatic qualification. Uruguay were disappointing in qualifying, finishing fifth overall, but pulled themselves back from the brink by securing a place in an intercontinental playoff against Jordan, which they won with ease.


A total of 53 national teams competed in the UEFA region, with teams contesting nine groups in a round-robin group stage. All nine group winners qualified automatically for the 2014 Football World Cup, while the eight best-performing runners-up.

There were few surprises amongst the automatic qualifiers, with Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Russia, England, Spain, Belgium and Bosnia & Herzegovina winning their respective groups. There were nervous moments for both France and Portugal before both sides qualified for the World Cup in the second round of knockout ties.

Greece and Croatia also won their respective second round ties to progress to the 2014 World Cup. There were major disappointments for Scotland, Denmark and Turkey, with all three relegated to watching the 2014 Football World Cup from the sidelines after failing to reach the second round of the qualifiers.

World Cup 2014 - World Cup 2014
Winner - 21:00
Click red odds to strike a bet
Ivory Coast150150125125125125100
South Korea260250250250300400250
Costa Rica110010001000100010001000500

Back to top